• Home
  • Academics
  • Faculty, graduate student research

Faculty, graduate student research


The Departmental graduate faculty (currently 4 members) consists of specialists who, as a group, represent the discipline in its entirety. The student will be exposed to both American and German-trained members. Each spring semester a Visiting Max-Kade Professor from Europe teaches in the Department. The Max-Kade Professorship provides a regular contact with continental scholarship and adds intellectual profile to the campus community.

Faculty and student research

Faculty members engage in various research activities in their areas of specialization. The Max Kade Center for German-American Studies is associated with the Department. Some faculty members have been involved in editorial work for national organizations. Furthermore, the faculty regularly participates as readers of research papers and as officers in professional organizations at the regional, national and international levels. Faculty and graduate students contribute to the Departmental Research Colloquia.

Previous Max Kade Visiting Professors: Gerhard Storz, Stuttgart (1965), Heinz Otto Burger, Frankfurt (1966), Wilhelm Emrich, Berlin (1967), Friedrich Beissner, Tübingen (1970), Richard Alewyn, München (1971), Helmut Koopmann, Bonn (1972), Friedrich Sengle, München (1973), Lutz Röhrich, Freiburg (1974), Wilhelm Vosskamp, Bielefeld (1975), Jacob Steiner, Karlsruhe (1976 and 1983), Hans Eggers, Saarbrücken (1977), Ulrich Fülleborn, Erlangen (1978), Hans- Jürgen Schings, Würzburg (1981), Hartmut Steinecke, Paderborn (1984), Hugo Steger, Freiburg (1985), Jörg-Ulrich Fechner, Bochum (1986), Helmut Arntzen, Münster (1987), Uwe-K. Ketelsen, Bochum (1988), Hans Esselborn, Köln (1989), Bernd Witte, Aachen (1990), Rolf-Peter Janz, FU Berlin (1991), August Stahl, Saarbrücken (1992), Kurt Rein, München (1994), Hans-Gert Roloff, FU Berlin (1995), Walter Haug, Tübingen (1996), Burghard Dedner, Marburg (1997), Gert Sautermeister, Bremen (1998), Inge Stephan, Humboldt Berlin (1999), Klaus Mattheier, Heidelberg (2000), Irmela von der Lühe, Göttingen (2001).Ulrich Gaier, Konstanz (2002), Walter Erhart, Greifswald (2003), Ludwig Eichinger, Mannheim (2004), Per Øhrgaard, Copenhagen (2005), Wilfried Barner, Göttingen (2006), Irmela von der Lühe, Berlin (2007), Nina Berend, Heidelberg and Mannheim (2008), Dieter Lohmeier, Kiel (2009), Jan-Dirk Müller, München (2010), Wynfrid Kriegleder, Vienna (2012), Sigrid Nieberle, Erlangen (2013), Per Øhrgaard, Copenhagen (2014).

2019 Graduation Ceremony


Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today